The Provincial Council

Groepsfoto provincieraad

The Provincial Council has 36 members who are directly elected for a period of 6 years. The next provincial elections will take place in October 2024, at the same time as city council elections.

The current division of seats in the provincial council:

  • N-VA: 14 seats (European branch: ECR)
  • CD&V: 6 seats (European branch: EPP)
  • Vlaams Belang: 6 seats (European branch: ENF)
  • Groen: 5 seats (European branch: EFA)
  • Open Vld: 2 seats (European branch: ALDE)
  • sp.a: 2 seats (European branch: S&D)
  • PVDA: 1 seat